Home     Archives     Search     Authors     About Us     Subscribe     Contact Us  

Search For:
Search In:

The i2P magazine is distributed by email on a monthly basis. Subscription is free and you can unsubscribe at any time.
Subscribe Here
Unsubscribe Here

If you have any concerns for your privacy, please read our Privacy Policy

- Issue 81: April 2009
- Issue 80: March 2009
- Issue 79: February 2009
- Issue 78: December 2008
- Issue 77: November 2008
- Issue 76: October 2008
- Issue 75: September 2008
- Issue 74: August 2008
- Issue 73: July 2008
- Issue 72: June 2008

More Archives
We are in the process of moving all of our articles to the new site.

In the meantime you can find them on the old i2P site.

PSA Press Releases

Peter Waterman
The Latest from the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia

Issue 73: July 2008
Page: 1 of 1 Author's Profile | Send to a Friend | Printer Version

PSA News - the latest from the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. Keep in touch with activities of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and their professional support for Australian pharmacists.
This Month:

PSA announces new CEO

  * Pharmacy Student of the Year Update

  * 2008 - 2011 PSA Branch Committees

PSA announces new CEO

After an extensive selection process, the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia has announced the appointment of its new Chief Executive Officer, Bryan Stevens.

PSA President Brian Grogan said Mr Stevens was an extremely accomplished leader and manager with a strong background in relationship management between the private sector and government.

"He has delivered outcomes of national and international significance in working with federal government, regulatory agencies, state governments and industry," Mr Grogan said.

"He has a track record as a leader with a strong reputation for delivering results through cooperation, collaboration, drive, initiative and decision-making within a strategic framework."

Mr Stevens' career highlights include:

  *    CEO Real Estate Institute of Australia: 2001-2008;
  *    Head of counter-terrorism in Attorney-General's Department: 1999-2001;
  *   Director General Strategic Planning for the Defence Force: 1998-1999;
  *    Commandant Royal Military College, Duntroon: 1997.

He will take up the position from July 21, 2008.

Mr Stevens said he eagerly awaited joining PSA and was looking forward to working in a new arena.

"As PSA has only recently become a truly unified, national organisation through the success of the PSA Transitional Authority (PSATA) process, it is a great time to join and help drive it to the next level," Mr Stevens said.

"In my role I will bring a particular focus on strategic analysis, strategic planning, national coordination of issues, advocacy and policy development for PSA."

He praised the work of the previous CEO, Kerry Deans, and the solid foundations she had left behind.

"Kerry left PSA far stronger than it was when she became CEO and was a key player in ensuring the PSATA process was a success," Mr Stevens said.

"I look forward to building on this work and helping to drive PSA forward."

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia is the organisation that represents the professional interests of Australia$B!G(Js 18,000 pharmacists. It provides standards of practice, education, training and practice support for pharmacists and helps members of the profession to deliver the best health care to their patients.

Pharmacy Student of the Year Update

TAS names PSOTY Finalist

 The Tasmanian Branch of PSA has selected a State finalist for the Alphapharm National Pharmacy Student of the Year competition.

 Angela Goodwin stood out to the judges, Graeme Holloway (PSA TAS President), Kathryn Law (PSA TAS Councillor) and Rachel Dienaar (PSA TAS Branch Director) amongst the six University of Tasmania finalists including Daniel Bernal, Elizabeth Franks, Dan Gradek, Andrew Pryor and Anita Thomas.

All the finalists were highly challenged by the counselling topic – mental health, providing the students with a fantastic opportunity to realise how difficult dealing with mental health can be.

Angela$B!G(Js experience working in a local community pharmacy during her degree proved a strong advantage. The judges found she sensitively broached the topic of suicide potential and worked with the $B!F(Jpatient$B!G(J to negotiate a way forward which made him feel supported. This approach is paramount for assisting positive health outcomes in the communities we work in as pharmacists.

Tasmanian pharmacists wish Angela all the best in the National Counselling Event.

SA PSOTY Counselling at SAPSA Quiz Night

The South Australian Branch of PSA congratulates Aaron (Mun Kit) Wong for being chosen as the SA Pharmacy Student of the Year in the annual competition held at the SAPSA Quiz Night on May 16.

Aaron and two other state finalists – Jamie Ianunzio and Blake Crossley were chosen from heats with fourth year pharmacy students held at the University of South Australia. As part of the competition the finalists counselled a $B!F(Jpatient$B!G(J in front of an audience of 150 people at the quiz night.

Judges commended all three finalists for their professional approach and high standards of communication and clinical knowledge demonstrated throughout the competition.

Angela and Aaron will now join other State and Territory finalists in the National Counselling Event to be held at the Pharmacy Australia Congress (PAC) in Perth 24-26 October, 2008.

Thanks to Alphapharm for their ongoing support of the competition both at State and National level.

2008 – 2011 PSA Branch Committees

Queensland: Rigby, Debbie;Moses, Geraldine; Nissen, Lisa; Blee, Warren; Elliot, Bruce; Scott, Sue; Yeates, Gilbert; Huxhagen, Karalyn; Mayne, Peter; Smith, Nerida; Stokes, Julie; Gath, David

New South Wales: Carroll, Peter; Bell, John; Benrimoj, Shalom Isaac (Charlie); Roberts, Alison; Carter, Stephen; Gissing, Peter; Reilly, Claire Louise; Plunkett, Warwick John; Nicholson, Katharina; Diamandis, Simone

Victoria: Flanagan, Bronwyn; Jackson, John; Grogan, Brian; Demarte, Joe; Feldschuh, Mark;Lynch, Michelle; Suen, Bill; Scavone, Michael; Roller, Louis; Gordon, Kaisey

Tasmania Holloway, Graeme; Smith, Lorraine; Jackson, Shane; Bereznicki, Luke; Howarth, Helen; Scanlon, Robert; Todd, Anne; Law, Kathryn; Turner, Brad

South Australia Banner, Lyn; Bayly, Peter; Hassouros, Sia; Kadarchi, Grant; Naunton, Mark;Sluggett, Andrew; Whitehouse, Joseph

Australian Capital Territory (elected in December 2007) Beckhouse, Cathy; Cooper, Gabrielle; Cox, Ken; Deans, Kerry; Fitzsimons, Michael; Foreman, Kevin; Jackson, Ben; Kelly, Bill; Martin, Grant;


Amy Cooper

Marketing Communications Manager
Pharmaceutical Society of Australia

National Office
44 Thesiger Court Deakin ACT
PO Box 21 Curtin ACT 2605
02 6283 4791
0407 282 515
02 6285 2869





Back to Top | Back to Home
Copyright © Computachem Services, All Rights Reserved. Published by Computachem Services, PO Box 297 Alstonville 2477 NSW Australia